Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
fuchs: (Default)
[personal profile] fuchs
Yes, I made mistakes at University. I should have done more, worked harder, shouldn't have postponed any paper. But I did alright, I think. Good grades, not too slowly, had to work at the side in the beginning, saved my little sister from my mother in one summer, wrote a book in another.
Now there are too papers left. I can't apply for a research scholarship in September like I planned until I get those two papers graded. Prof. Ehmcke was on sickleave for months now, though, and she still has another paper of mine to grade.
I think I'll get both written until the end of August. Since the next possible application date for said scholarship (after September) will be at the beginning of January next year, and I therefore can go to Japan to research for my thesis earliest mid-March, where I want to stay two months... I'm never gonna be able to take my final examinations in May. Means, I'll have to take them in November.
Well, I'll definitely get my thesis done in time, now.
And I'll be able to go to those fantastic seminars next semester. An exercise course about Hokusai! A lecture by Prof. Ehmcke about the birth of Japanese Modernity! Prof. Göttert talking about medieval magic (missed that one two times in the last years)! A newspaper reading course with Watabe!
So business a usual next semester, only without papers and with a thesis to write instead.
Then (hopefully) Kyôto next spring.
After that I have to finish my thesis and start swotting for the finals.

That is relatively little to do, compared to some past semesters. Not enough room for a job on the side, at least not until I come back from Japan, but enough to refresh my Japanese and maybe write another book. Possibly even to try to learn programming.

I fought hard for this plan. I had to struggle to overcome this stupid belief that I had to hurry like fuck. I mean, I'll still be out of university before I turn thirty. I'll have had time to do my very best, which means very good grades. And I'll be able to love every part of the journey.
I will not succumb to society telling me to cram faster, ignore thoroughness for pure speed and suffer a guilty conscience the whole way, regardless of how much I do.
I'm not guilty of anything but maybe some stupid mistakes in the beginning of my studies. And those are completely forgivable.

I applied for a students loan, now, too. I just refuse to suffer poverty (yes, it's poverty if you can't buy winters clothes or fresh vegetables) just because society makes me panic about debt traps. I can calculate pretty good and I know I can afford a years worth of a students loan.

Anyway.
What I'm trying to say is that I chose happiness over the general societys opinion. You have to play lotto to win the million, you have to write those books to maybe get them published and earn a bit of money with them. I am fighting theeth and nails for my right to drive to the Otto-Maigler-Lake wih friends yesterday and the day before to go swimming and relaxing. For my right to eat Sushi now and again. To play, play, play. To drive to Dad's in a few weeks, just because I miss him. To treat myself to a bit of normal luxury.
I am 27 years old and I tried to save as much money as possible the last four years, with the resulting guilty conscience for my one-weekend-a-year-holidays, for every time we ate out and every time we went to the cinema. I am not richer in any way, nor happier, and I still felt guilty. Sometimes I really get the impression that our society doesn't like happiness very much. If you are happy you're obviously not doing enough, not working hard enough, not worrying enough.
ENOUGH already.
I could die tomorrow.
And I really want to stop giving myself *reasons* to want to flee this reality. I can't overcome my addictions to bad behaviour patterns otherwise, because they are exactly that: attempts to escape from reality.

Now I just have to watch myself very, very closely to not walk into my own traps. Writing makes me way happier than watching TV. Driving to the lake beats lounging about in bed every day (if the weather permits, though). Sushi feels worlds better than greasy pizza. Working hard to learn Japanese and write papers or rather my thesis fills me with pride and accomplishment.
I have to remember thinks like that.
Then the next year will be full of life and creativity and the luxury of nature and health and family and friends and wide, open air.


([livejournal.com profile] eliathanis took this picture of [livejournal.com profile] fusselbiene, [livejournal.com profile] gaharr, [livejournal.com profile] terrorzone666 and me. Thanks!)

Date: 2007-08-06 10:52 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] eliathanis.livejournal.com
Genau!

Ich bin immer noch total froh, dass wir Paris gemacht haben. Lebensqualität! Trotz finanzieller Nachwehen. :)

Date: 2007-08-06 11:34 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] fuchs.livejournal.com
Haiiiiiiiiii!!!
(deleted comment)
(deleted comment)

Date: 2007-08-06 05:24 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] fuchs.livejournal.com
Oookay, jetzt bin ich neugierig, an was arbeitest du denn da grad? :D
Und: Kommt schwer auf den Zeitrahmen drauf an, nach dem nächsten Wochenende habe ich wieder etwas mehr Zeit.

Date: 2007-09-27 02:57 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] fuchs.livejournal.com
gehen auch zwei? *bastel* und darf es nur köln sein oder auch die umgebung? und boah, keine hilfe von normalen karten, und das mir. ó.ò
(deleted comment)

Date: 2007-09-27 05:23 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] fuchs.livejournal.com
Zwei *Karten*.
Eifelstrasse und Umgebung (inkl. Barbarossaplatz) und Chlodwigplatz und Umgebung.
Für *vorher* fragen ist es jetzt schon etwas zu spät...

Date: 2007-09-27 05:28 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] fuchs.livejournal.com
Ist eigentlich irgendeine Ausrichtung erwünscht? Meine Ansicht ist momentan eine, wo Norden links ist...
(deleted comment)

Date: 2007-10-01 12:31 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] fuchs.livejournal.com
Hab die Ausrichtung geändert. Ich werde es nicht schaffen, dir die zu bringen, bevor ich Mittwoch nach Kiel fahre (tut mir so leid, die Verspätung), soll ich dir die schicken? (gehe eh zur Post) Ich hab deine neue Adresse übrigens nicht (gefunden). XD
Oder soll ich die hier lassen und du holst sie dir?

Date: 2007-08-06 11:13 am (UTC)
ext_98598: (fairytale)
From: [identity profile] zeraphita.livejournal.com
You're so right it hurts.. I am like that. Trying to save money all the way, and then STILL spending too much and always having a guilty conscience. Also always having a guilty conscience when I didn't do something for university all the time (whereas my grades tell me that I do fine). I hope this will all get better when my job starts.. I'm sick of it. Sick of guilty consciences and alike.

Date: 2007-08-06 11:35 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] fuchs.livejournal.com
It's so destructive to feel like that, isn't it? I wish you success!

Date: 2007-08-06 11:40 am (UTC)
ext_98598: (famiglia)
From: [identity profile] zeraphita.livejournal.com
It is. Whatever you do, you do it wrong. If you save money all the time, your quality of life suffers (to put it nice), and if you spend money, you suffer of a guilty conscience. I still suffer from guilty conscience for the cosplays (although one I wanted to make for 6 years and the other was cheap and so much fun) and for the Nintendo DS I presented myself for surviving the semester of hell (last WS) and for my birthday.. the list goes on. Grmbl. It's really getting on my nerves and I'm working on it. What good does it do me if I am 40, look back and think I missed so much?

Thanks! I'm glad for you you are getting over it!! ^^

Date: 2007-08-06 12:22 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] allamistako.livejournal.com
*Wordless thumbs up*

Date: 2007-08-06 01:22 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] zimtkeks.livejournal.com
You're so right, it can be very hard to get society's opinions out of one's head. You gotta know what you want. And then be brave and do it. You're not hurting anyone in the process, so how could it be wrong? *thumbsup*

Date: 2007-08-06 05:25 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] fuchs.livejournal.com
Thanks! :)

Date: 2007-08-06 02:23 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] gaharr.livejournal.com
Good thoughts, agree with 'em

And I have to say, the lake looks much nicer on this photograph than it actually is ^^

Guess I'm the second one (from the left)

Got any more of them *Bambiaugen*

Date: 2007-08-06 05:26 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] fuchs.livejournal.com
Naaa, der See sieht in echt so aus! :D

Wegen des Balls? *g*

Ja, aber das hier war das schönste. Obwohl, ich hab auch noch ein cooles von dir mit einer Ente. Auge in Auge, sozusagen. Soll ich mal mailen?

Date: 2007-08-07 02:29 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] gaharr.livejournal.com
Jajaja *g*

Date: 2007-08-07 12:08 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] al-pha.livejournal.com
"Sometimes I really get the impression that our society doesn't like happiness very much. If you are happy you're obviously not doing enough, not working hard enough, not worrying enough." - Totally agree!

Keep fingers crossed for students loan.

Schöner Eintrag. Ja zum "normalen" Luxus! ^___^

Date: 2007-08-08 08:57 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] fusselbiene.livejournal.com
*Luxusknuddler der Zustimmung!*
Das Photo ist wunderschön! Nächstes Mal möchte ich meine Kamera mitnehmen, um das Lichtspiel in den Blättern am See zu knipsen. *schmacht*
Und nächstes Mal mache ich uns eine Kühltasche für Getränke. Und vielleicht können wir vorher Sushi machen und mit an den See nehmen? Das steht nämlich nach wie vor auf unserer Vor-Japan-nochmal-machen-Liste - und ließe sich im Zeichen des Luxus vermutlich vorzüglich mit dem Otto kombinieren... ^^

August 2018

S M T W T F S
   1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Page generated Mar. 23rd, 2026 02:55 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios